Rockstar removes hacked cash

For any of you who play GTA V online, you will have undoubtedly heard about people receiving insane amounts of money from random people who have exploited the game to get what is being called ‘hacked cash.’ I myself received just under $90,000,000.

After receiving this money I went and bought everything: all available weapons (as I’m only level 24), max ammo, awesome cars and mods and the most expensive apartment; knowing that soon, Rockstar would remove it from my account.

image

Last night at 9pm CET, GTA V went down for maintenance and this morning I found out what they did.

As part of today’s maintenance update we are removing the counterfeit GTA$ from the games economy.
Anyone who actively enagaged in cheating or exploiting the game in this manner will be subject to in-game penalties at our discretion.

Upon reading this I worried…a lot! GTA online is a hell of an experience and I’d go to hell and back to keep my account from being banned. However, the guys at Rockstar are decent people and also included this statement:

Anyone who innocently received GTA$ as a result of these exploits but did not engage in cheating to acquire it will not face any further action – the funds will just be removed, and you’ll be able to keep any items you currently own.

Now I originally had about $20,000 and I know I’ve spent roughly $3million since I got the hacked cash, does this mean my balance is going to be NEGATIVE $2,080,000 when I next log in? Will it just revert to $0? Or will I be back to the $20,000 I originally owned? Hopefully the latter, but I did really enjoy the carefree fucking around for a few weeks, it was fun!

Leave a Reply

