Can you blame all men for harassment given by the 1%?

#yesallwomen has hit the news with tweets and articles coming from all over the world talking about how women and young girls endure sexual harassment every day. But can we really take it out every man for the 1% of guys who do this?


Upon reading these things I felt immediately compelled to say, “Oh come on, you can’t blame every guy for acts of the 1%.” HOWEVER I then read this article by  in The Guardian An open letter to all my male friends, and it changed everything for me.

But I was still left in the though of, “Okay, I agree with you…but what do you want me to do?” Then I remembered a quote I once read, and hugely agree with, from a British philosopher.

“A person may cause evil to others not only by his actions but by his inaction, and in either case he is justly accountable to them for the injury.”

– John Stuart Mills

If you see someone being harassed, do something.

Don’t tweet about it.

Don’t blog about how shocked you were.

Do something!

Tell whoever it is that it’s not acceptable, you can’t act like that in public or anywhere else for that matter.
This is someone’s daughter, mother, sister, wife or girlfriend. How would you feel if someone you loved was constantly daily and living in discomfort.

If you’re one of guys in the 1%…just stop. It makes you look like a dick, it makes people uncomfortable and not just the woman you’re talking to.

An open letter to all my male friends - by Estelle Tang

An open letter to all my male friends – by Estelle Tang

Leave a Reply

