Tricks & Tips: gitignore.io – A `.gitignore` generator

A very, very quick tip for using Git, specifically gitignore.

I recently have been semi-forced into developing in VisualStudio which comes with a ton of extra files that I was sure I didn’t need. After some time of searching the web for what extensions and folders I could put in the .gitignore file I came across gitignore.io.

Screenshot from 2015-03-02 03:29:26

This site lets you enter the different OSs, IDEs and programming languages you are using and will generate a raw plain text file for you to copy into your .gitignore file.

Screenshot from 2015-03-02 03:33:35

So yeah, I highly recommend using this for any project you are using Git for…which should be all of them.

Leave a Reply

